Saturday Morning Movies

Another weekend gone in a flash!  Hard to believe it’ll be July next weekend!  You know what that means….start your Christmas shopping now & you won’t have to fight with the crazies come November/December!  I’m ultimately going to have to ship all gifts this year, since I won’t get to go home for the holidays due to work, so it doesn’t really matter if I start shopping now or not because I’ll more than likely just do all of my shopping online, so I’ll only have to pay shipping once.  I’ll have to do Christmas in July and break out the Christmas movies, as they are my favorites.  I actually got a jump start and already watch “Elf” last weekend.  Sometimes you just need to go to a happy place and Christmas movies do it for me…that is when I can’t travel.

Saturday morning I was up and at it at 5:00am.  I’m not a morning person and I never get up before 7:30am, so I was slightly pissed I was wide awake at that hour, but I quickly calmed once I realized Netflix streaming had recently added Thor to watch instantly…so I was alright since I had Chris Hemsworth to stare at for a couple of hours.  When the movie was over I went ahead and got ready for the day & headed out the door around 10am to head to the 10:30 showing of Disney’s new movie, “Brave”

If you didn’t go out and watch “Brave” during it’s opening weekend, definitely put it on your list of movies to go watch.  Out of all the newer Disney movies….this one is definitely a favorite of mine now.  Maybe not so much for the storyline, but I loved the spunk of Princess Merida. One of the nice things about going to watch this movie is that I really didn’t have any idea of the storyline.  I mean most Disney movies are based on fairytales, but this one wasn’t any fairytale I was familiar with, so it was nice to see a totally original storyline.  I laughed through a good part of the movie as there was a lot of slapstick humor throughout the movie.  Plus, you’ve just gotta love the Scottish accent!  I also teared up a couple times in the movie as well, but I do that with most Disney movies.  There was also a Pixar short film before the movie called “La Luna” that was super cute.  I have read several reviews that said it was well done, but not one of Pixar’s best.  I would have to disagree, as I didn’t really care much for movies like “Cars 2” or “The Incredibles”.  Then again, I tend to enjoy a more fairy tale-esqe type movie and this definitely had those fairy tale aspects to it.  All in all, I give the movie a big thumbs up and would recommend anyone to go and watch it.  I seen several fathers with their girls at the movie and they all got a good laugh out of the movie.

Well, I’ll go ahead and leave it at that for now, as the rest of my weekend was a snore.  I did all of my running around after the movie Saturday.  I’m really glad I did because it’s done nothing but rain pigs and elephants the entire day on Sunday due to Tropical Storm Debby off the west coast of Florida.  All the rain made me want to take a nap, but I didn’t because I took a nap yesterday and then wasn’t able to go to sleep until 2:00am.  Hope everyone has a great week!

Later gators!

Jenn

Leave a Reply

