Downtown Disney Fun

If you’re tired from all the park hopping & just want to take a day to relax and do a little Disney themed shopping, then Downtown Disney is screaming for you to come & visit.  The great thing about Downtown Disney is that it is a great place to go for that Disney feeling & it’s free if you’re just browsing!  Parking is free too or there are free shuttles from all of the Disney resorts as well.  It’s also a great place to go if you had seen something in one of the parks and forgot to buy it, more than likely you’ll be able to find it here.

They have tons of shops, the biggest character store on Earth called World of Disney.  You can spend hours in here looking around at all they have to offer.  Also inside the store is the Bibbidi Bobbidi Boutique where little girls can go and get their princess on!  It’s so adorable to see some of the girls when they are all gussied up in their favorite princess dress, hair up and curled with an overabundance of glitter shimmering in their hair.  It would definitely be something your little darling would remember forever!  I know I’ve seen where some people do this in the morning and then hit up the parks & get some adorable photos with different characters throughout the parks.  I guess that’s the magic of Disney!

Also, throughout Downtown Disney you’ll see several amazing Lego statues.  They have a dragon/serpent type creature made entirely of Legos in the lake, as well as Lego creations of Snow White, Buzz & Woody, etc.  It’s really pretty cool.  I can’t imagine being the one having to create these masterpieces.  Little ones that are Lego maniacs will love seeing all of creations! And then of course they have the Lego store on site as well!

Now my favorite store at Downtown Disney has to be “The Art of Disney” store.  I’m love artwork and have loved all Disney related art since a young age.  So if you are like me, it might be best to go before payday, so you don’t have any money to blow because I could easily spend an entire paycheck here.  Seeing all of the artwork just gives you that good feeling deep down inside like you’re a kid again.  I really love seeing other various artist different renditions of characters and movie themes.  The last time I was their I refrained from buying anything for myself, but I bought by younger brother, who is a volunteer fireman a picture of Mickey Mouse shaking a fireman’s hand.  It was pretty cool & my brother loved it.

My other favorite store would have to be Mickey’s Pantry.  I’m not sure why, because I’m not much of a cook & I don’t do a lot of cooking, but I love all of the Disney themed cook wear.  I think I might just have to redecorate my kitchen the more I think about it.  You’ll find everything from a variety of coffee mugs, plates, cooking utensils, cookbooks, Mickey shaped pasta, spices, wine bottle toppers, etc…

If you get hungry from walking around and doing a lot of shopping, you’ll have no shortage of choices on places to eat at Downtown Disney.  When I went, my friend and I decided to eat at the Rainforest Cafe.  A word of advice….if you don’t care about sitting inside with all of the Rainforest like atmosphere and just want to relax, eat & enjoy the weather…request a table on the outside deck.  I didn’t even realize there was an outside deck option because they didn’t ask us when we put our name on the wait list, but my friend who knew mentioned it and we were the only people out there.  It’s a very nice deck area right over the lake.  It’s a great place to enjoy some good food, an awesome frozen drink and good conversation.  I even talked them into making me a drink they had never made.  It was a mango mojito, which was on the drink list, but I asked them if they good make it frozen, so they said they’d give it a shot and it was AMAZING!

I usually just go to Downtown Disney to walk around and browse, but there is so much more that is offered besides shopping and eating.  On the other side of Downtown Disney, you have the Pleasure Island area for the evening hours, House of Blues, AMC Dine-In Movie Theater.  If you’re wanting to take in a show, Cirque de Soleil is on site as well.  I haven’t had a chance to go yet, but I hear it’s spectacular.

To find out about different events at Downtown Disney, as well as information on all of the shops, eateries, & things to do, check out the website at http://disneyworld.disney.go.com/destinations/downtown-disney.

2 thoughts on “Downtown Disney Fun

  1. Pingback: First Look: Splitsville at Downtown Disney « thisfloridalife

Leave a Reply

