Movie Review: A Dolphin’s Tale

Happy Sunday, everyone!  Hope everyone took advantage of that extra hour we gained today!  I got up & did some cleaning and then went to a movie around 11am.  After that, I headed for the Altamonte Mall to check out a sale.  What a nice mall, wish I would have checked it out sooner!

Anyways, I decided to go see “A Dolphin’s Tale”, as I’ve been wanting to see it, since I seen the first previews.  After watching it, I kick myself for not going into marine biology, like I wanted to when I was growing up.  Put me in a tank with some dolphins, manatees, turtles, etc…you’d have one happy girl!  I may just have to settle, by finding a volunteer position somewhere, but wouldn’t it be great to get paid doing something that you absolutely love?!

A Dolphin’s Tale” has my favorite Harry Connick Jr., along with Morgan Freeman, Ashley Judd & Kris Kristofferson, just to name a few names you may know right off the bat.  The youngsters of the movie, Nathan Gamble and Cozi Zuehlsdorff really did a magnificent job in the movie & I’m sure this won’t be the last time we see the young stars!  This movie is all about a dolphin who was injured by getting tangled up in a crab trap.  The dolphin was taken in by a vet, played by Harry Connick Jr., who ran a marine animal hospital.  The dolphin was named Winter by the vets daughter.  The young boy that found the dolphin goes to the animal hospital to check on Winter and ultimately befriends him and helps in Winter’s rehabilitation.  Unfortunately, due to the extent of the damage to Winter’s tail, they had to amputate.  The boy then motivates everyone around him in helping save Winter by having a prosthetic tail made for the dolphin & won over the hearts of everyone!

 There is a lot more to the story, but you’ll have to go see it for yourself!  You won’t be disappointed!  You get that feeling, when you’re watching the movie that I would have to describe as when the Grinch’s heart grew three sizes…it just warms your heart to the very core and makes you smile from ear to ear.  It’s really a magnificent story, which is true by the way!  At the end, I found out the actual home of Winter is only two hours from Orlando, down in Clearwater, FL, so I think I’ll be making a trip down to visit this awesome creature in the near future.  I wish it was closer, so I could do some volunteer work at the aquarium, but I’ll have to look and see if there are any marine animal rescues a little closer to Orlando.  For those of you that don’t live in the sunshine state & would like to see Winter the dolphin, just go visit the website: http://www.seewinter.com and they have a web cam so you can see the dolphins playing in the pool. Very cool!

Leave a Reply

