Epcot International Food & Wine Festival 2011

Today I got up nice and early & headed to the Epcot International Food & Wine Festival!  I was super excited to get to go to Epcot since I hadn’t been since 2003, so I new they had added a few things since then.  Lucky for me, since I haven’t bit the bullet and bought an annual pass since moving to Orlando, that I know lots of people that work there and was able to get a discounted ticket.  I was a bit bummed to find out some of the people I thought who were going as well, decided not to come, so I hoofed it alone today through the park.  I managed to last from 9:00am – 3:00pm, after that I couldn’t entertain myself any longer.  If I would have had someone to pal around with, I would have tried to stay until 10:00pm in order to see the fireworks.  Fireworks aren’t really my thing, but Disney does them best!

The first ride I headed for, after I arrived, was “Soarin”.  It was a pretty darn cool ride!  You basically seat belt yourself into your seat on this long bench & then it takes off and gives you the feeling that you are hang gliding in all of these different places around the world…over the Golden Gate Bridge, thru mountains, over the ocean, over the orange orchards, etc…   It was cool that you could smell the oranges, when you were going over the orange orchard.  Not sure if there were supposed to be scents with any of the other areas, if there were, I didn’t notice.

After that, I headed over to “The Seas” to visit my favorite manatees.  As you are walking up to “The Seas” building…you see the “The Finding Nemo” characters in the flower bed areas, but then it completely cracked me up when I walked by the actual sign and the sea gulls from Finding Nemo start yelling, “Mine, Mine, Mine, Mine”.  It totally took me off guard and startled me a bit because I wasn’t expecting it, but it made my day…so funny.  Unfortunately, my manatees weren’t in there tank/viewing area…they decided to swim out of the area and didn’t come back in where I could see them.  Oh well, there are viewing areas throughout central Florida, so I’ll just have to go check them out in their actual habitat one of these days.

Click here for the recipe & others from the festival

By the time I got out of “The Seas” area, I was a little hungry, so I headed over to the Food & Wine Festival for some good eats.  My main goal was Germany & my mission was accomplished!  First thing I had was Nurnberger Sausage in a Pretzel Roll with mustard, which was delicious as expected!  I knew I’d be coming back to the Germany booth a little later in the day.  Next goal was to hit up the Caribbean booth for a Frozen Rock Coconut Mojito….I had no idea there was a such thing as a frozen mojito, as regular mojitos are one of my favorite drinks!  OMG….this sucker was yummy and it was gone in no time flat.  It definitely had some kick, which I didn’t realize until I got up after drinking it…woo-hoo!  While I was at the Caribbean booth…the line was kinda of long, so I decided to go ahead and try the Ropa Vieja (Braised Beef) with white rice & it was pretty tasty, as I don’t typically eat beef.  Well, after I ate that, the crowds had really picked up….like New York City street busy, so I just hopped on the ferry which takes you straight to Germany…Perfect!  So I got in line again, but this time around it was time for dessert, so I got the Apple Studel with carmel and vanilla sauces…YUMMO!  Guess what?  The recipe was on the Epcot website, so I’ll put it below along with a link back to the page because they had several yummy recipes from the festival that you may like to try.

Leave a Reply

