Lazy Weekend & Yummy Dessert!

Ahhh…it was so nice to have a three day weekend!  Thank you servicemen…past & present!  Time is flying so fast this year…I can’t believe it will be June in a couple of days.  I had started out on Friday thinking I would clean up the house this weekend, so I got up early on Saturday & moved from the bed to the couch.  That was the first mistake…second mistake was turning on the t.v. & continued to watch episodes of Ghost Whisperer on Netflix & that’s where my weekend pretty much ends…lol.  I have less than 20 episodes left, so I’ll have that series knocked out this week.  When I’m done…I’ve got to start making myself workout before I start in on another series or I’ll be couch bound all summer…not cool!  I got a couple of workout games via Gamefly.com to try out, so I’m curious how those are going to turn out, but I wanted to try them first before buying any, since Xbox games are so gosh darn expensive.  I’m most eager to try out the Biggest Loser game, but I might be taking back that eagerness after I try it out and have Bob & Jillian yelling at me…lol.

The weekend wasn’t entirely spent on the couch…I did manage to get the bathroom all cleaned up and wiped down. And the kitchen.  Even ran out and grabbed a few groceries.  Then on the way home, I noticed that none of my neighbors that I share the pool with were home, so I put away the groceries real quick and then jumped in the pool.  I’m not very comfortable in a bathing suit around other people, so I took advantage of the pool while nobody was around.  It was great!  A lot warmer then when I was in there last back in October!  Then I called up my uncle & made plans to bring him over lunch today, so this weekend wasn’t a total loss…I still got to see family! 🙂  I ended up making Chicken Enchiladas (my specialty), corn casserole & Lazy Peach Pie.  The food was a big hit with my uncle & then when his roomates got home from their weekend at the beach…they attacked the food & loved it too!  It always makes me happy when people like what I cook, since I’m not the greatest.  I was too full to eat any Lazy Peach Pie, but sure enough…as soon as I got home I was hungry for some, so I through together the batter & when I went to grab a can of peaches I was out, so I just made do with a can of pears….tasted just as good.  Would you like the recipe??  Okay, you twisted my arm!

Lazy Peach Pie

1 c. flour       
 1 c. sugar
1 c. milk        
1 stick of butter
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. vanilla
Lg. Can of Peaches
Cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together, except the butter & fruit.  Melt the stick of butter in an 8×8 or 9×13 pan.  Pour the batter on top of the melted butter.  Drop in sliced peaches randomly throughout.  Sprinkle with cinnamon.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.  Wah-la!  Instant Yumminess!

Since I dabble in the art of cooking I didn’t do any new paintings this weekend.  I have one almost done, but haven’t been able to get the design/outline I’m going for laid out to where it looks the way I want it to just yet, so maybe next weekend.  I will leave you with a quick painting I did last weekend for a friend at work who wanted a dandelion painting for her bedroom after she seen my drawing of one on my message board on my door at work.  She wanted it to be a bright pink to match her bedroom decor…I thought it turned out pretty good.  She loved it, so that’s what counts!  Anyways, hope y’all had a fabulous long weekend!  Talk to you later!

Leave a Reply

