Water For Elephants…Loved it!

After many weeks of reading “Water for Elephants” little by little, trying to make the book last me a little while instead of reading it all in a matter of a weekend, I finally finished it up last night.  I’m a little sad that the story had to come to an end, but boy what an ending it had…absolutely LOVED the ending!  I am a little hesitant to watch the movie, just because I loved the book so much, but it’s going to be hard not to eventually watch the movie, as it has a couple of my favorite actors in it, but I’ll probably wait until it comes out on dvd.

This book made me laugh many times throughout, as well as cringe during a few parts.  Personally, I really enjoyed this book.  I thought it was a great story of the depression-era, with a whole boat load of interesting characters! To briefly summarize, the book is narrated by the main character, Jacob Jankowski, who alternates back and forth between his current life, as a spunky old man in a nursing home and that of a much younger self, whom once hopped a train & ended up joining a traveling circus & becoming the resident vet.  Along the way, he falls in love with Marlena & Rosie, one, is the lovely & stunning equestrian star and the other is the shows elephant.  The book literally takes you on a train ride of an adventure & along the way you meet stage hands, circus freaks & clowns, the sideshow acts that are only known through word of mouth & many more.  This was a wonderful story with an ending that made me literally lie in bed laughing.  

I tried to keep this review short & sweet, especially since the movie is coming out tomorrow.  But, I’d highly recommend reading the book first, as I do with most books that become movies.  The books are always better in my mind, even as much as I love movies!  If you get a chance though, pick up this book and read it…you won’t be disappointed! 
Leave a Reply

